5K: Nailed it!

537252_497659340277033_1201607893_nMost of the time you know what to expect. But I had no clue about the Meidenloop. I finished ‘Start to run’ but my last training was horrible. I had a bad side stich, out of breath and very, very tired. I got very nervous about the race. I just wasn’t sure enough I could finish without any pain or a bad feeling.

Finally the 30th arrived. I had a good and healthy breakfast: an egg, smoothie and a sandwich with cheese and a banana. The night before I had a great lasagna in a restaurant. So I was filled with carbohydrates, protein and vitamins!
Screen Shot 2013-07-03 at 5.33.50 PM

The park (Lepelenburg in Utrecht) was filled with girls in all shaped and sizes. Mothers, daughters, friends and a lot of fans!
I started out slow. It was very crowded and I didn’t want to rush myself. In about two minutes I entered some sort of trance. I put my game-face on and I ran. I didn’t stop until the finish. I didn’t notice al the other girls anymore. I had an awesome pace, which I’ve never had before.

After 30 minutes and 13 seconds I finished my first 5k. I have never ran that fast and controlled like I did during that race. My stats are below. I am so freaking proud. I finished without any pain, I finished in 30 minutes and I am in the top 20% of the fastest girls! (18% to be precise)

Screen Shot 2013-07-03 at 5.53.38 PMIf you ever want to do this too and you’re not a (trained) runner: download “Start to Run” or another podcast and go train for it. You’ll feel good about it and if I can do it, everybody can! I even made my mom excited about the 5k!! So hopefully, my mom and I will run it together!

The Meidenloop was very well organized. There was a great ‘basecamp’, everything went fast and afterwards they made a recapitulation of the run for every girl. I loved my video. This picture (below) is the best shot of the whole race! My high fiving with my friend. We both made it to the finish right after each other! Screen Shot 2013-07-03 at 5.33.06 PM

What’s next? I dunno, I do know I want to keep up with this running thing. But I’m also really excited about ‘Insanity’ by Sean T…

XOXO
Menina

 

 

5 thoughts on “5K: Nailed it!

  1. Super gedaan meid! Daar mag je idd bere trots op zijn. Ik ga het 4 aug dus proberen met de Color Run. Of ik de singelloop kan doen, weet ik nog niet. Eerst kijken wanneer ik mijn vakantie plan met een vriendin. Gaaf zeg dat deze race zo soepel verliep. Ik hoop dat dat voor mij ook zal gelden =) X

Leave a Reply

