Shoe Story #1: Jimmy Choo for H&M

IMG_8473Being on a Shoe No Buy is one of the hardest things I have to do. But it also made me take a good look at my current collection. I already gave you a sneak peak earlier. But this is the first blogpost where I tell you the details about my favorite pieces.

I remember the day like it was yesterday. It was the autumn 2009. I’ve been driving by the ad for weeks. I looked at the collection online and I already got my eye one two amazing pairs. Every girl in Holland, who loves Carrie Bradshaw, got excited and wanted to be the first to own a pair. I’m talking about the great Jmmy Choo for H&M collection. Both Jimmy Choo and H&M really nailed this. You can still buy these heels on Marktplaats (Dutch Ebay).

The first thing I did that morning was turning on the computer and surf to H&M. The sale started around 10 am and the website was overloaded. I kept refreshing for 30 minutes or so and when I got through, I immediately ordered a pair of black heels with a blue belt around the ankle. I got so excited, almost cried, jumped for joy and drove my boyfriend crazy. When I came to my senses again, he suggested to go to H&M and try to fit the heels and maybe purchase another pair.

I remember being a little reserved. I didn’t want to be one of those 16 year old girls screaming and shouting for heels. But he convinced me to go. Until this day I’m still grateful for that!

IMG_8465

We took the bus to the shopping mall and walked as fast as I could to H&M. It was really crowded and a huge mess. Girls fighting each other for their sizes like it was the last heels they could ever buy. Boyfriends standing in corners looking at their girlfriend with fear in their eyes. I quickly pushed some girls aside to get to the shoe section and started digging for my size. Luckily my man is not the kind of man that waits in a corner. He actually distracted the other girls, so I could strike and get a hold of my second pair: Bright red strapped heels.
It felt like 7th heaven. I tried them one and felt like Amazon Eve. I wasn’t used to walk in 4.5″ heels. But that didn’t stop me from buying them. They are gorgeous!

After two weeks I finally got my order from H&M. At that time I lived in an apartment building and I had to walk across the hallway to open the front door. The mailman disappeared when I arrived at the door and he hang my beloved Jimmy Choo heels on the doorknob! What was he thinking? Of course I called his boss to complain. When I opened the box I kept staring at the gorgeous heels and I wanted to built a house out of them and stay in there forever.

IMG_8464

IMG_8471These heels are still one of the most precious pairs I own. I love telling this story and every time I wear them I get the same feeling as I had the day I bought them.

Do you own an item from the Jimmy Choo for H&M Collection?

XOXO
Menina

2 thoughts on “Shoe Story #1: Jimmy Choo for H&M

  1. Oh my I just figured we have more in common than just an addiction for shoes! My name is Maaike too 😉 and I’m a teacher as well. But to get to the point: I don’t own any of the Jimmy Choo for H&M heels. I don’t tend to go for brand names: as long as I like the shoe, I’m good.

Leave a Reply

