How to survive a No Buy #2 – Restyle your old shoes

We’ve all been there… After a while your amazing new shoes start to get boring. You don’t wear them every day anymore, they get lost inside your closet or underneath the couch. Or you just simply forget you even had them! Sometimes you need to re-discover your old but still pretty shoes. A simple solution is to stock pile all your old shoes inside the basement for a year and forget all about them.

But…

there is another option: Restyle them!
I looked through a whole lot of restyling tips online and choose three solutions for you!

1. Heel condoms

The beautiful Sandrysabel Ortiz from Puerto Rico came up with this idea. Basically, it’s a condom for your heel. It’s designed for stiletto heels between 2-5 inches. After a while her company made the heel condom 2.0 aka Heel panty. The heel panty is designed to fit all heels, thin, thick, high and low.

Feather-BL1

Feathers BL1 – $39

You can order your heel condoms here or check here if they sell them close to your home! Dutchies: check Honneponnen.nl or Exclusieve Accessoires.

2. Shoe accessories

H&M sold it a couple weeks ago, but I couldn’t find it on the website anymore, but I found another company, who is specialized in shoe accessories: Erica Giuliani. The company is owned by two Canadian sisters: Nadia and Patricia Marci.
The sisters designed a lot of different accessories for all different kind of shoes: heels, boots, everything! I couldn’t decide what picture to choose, so a verity of options!

Spiked heel ring -  CAD $ 30

Spiked heel ring – CAD $ 30

Boot Belt - Gold Metal Bow - CAD $20

Boot Belt – Gold Metal Bow – CAD $20

Shoe Clips - prizes from CAD $20

Shoe Clips – prizes from CAD $20

3. Glitter it up
When you do not want to spend a lot of money or have a hard time choosing between all the glittery clips or different heel condoms, here’s another option!
All you need is some super glue and loose glitter. I guarantee you, all eyes are on your shoes!

les_escarpins_glitter_lam___de_miu_miu_6015_north_382x

Miu Miu

Miu-Miu-Glitter-Mary-Jane_butterboom

Miu Miu – Glitter Mary Jane

I found some great tutorials that show you how to do this yourself. To be honest… I’m quit busy with finishing my masters degree, so I just don’t have the time to DIM (Do It Myself). I owe you, so when I get my degree, I will try it myself too!

Tutorials:
Could I Have That
A Pair & A share

I hope you enjoyed these options. There are many, many more. So use your creativity!
Have you every restyled your old shoes?

XOXO
Menina

Pictures are from Erica Giuliani, The Heel Condom, Vogue and Google.

8 thoughts on “How to survive a No Buy #2 – Restyle your old shoes

  1. Leuk artikel! Ik zou het wel leuk vinden om van die dingen te kopen voor boots, nieuwe riemen met studs om saaie laarzen te pimpen :). En de glitters lijmen op de zolen lijkt me gaaf. Heb wel 1 paar hoge pumps waarbij ik dat kan doen. Oh wat zou ik blij zijn als er een winkel komt in Utrecht die alleen maar sneakers, laarzen en pumps verkoopt die speciaal geschikt zijn voor Utrecht. Ik kan maar niet de juiste pumps en laarzen vinden waar ik al jaren naar opzoek ben waarmee ik veilig en makkelijk kan lopen (paraderen) over die kinderkopjes die onze stad rijk is! Zullen wij anders samen zo’n winkel opzetten 😉 haha

  2. Lovely glitterheels, vooral de onderkant. Dat is best een goed idee om ze te pimpen, niemand die merkt dat het oude pumps zijn. :”) Sowieso ben ik wel van het restylen, om te zien.. doe het nooit. :/ Wat jammer eigenlijk, meer doen! Dankjewel. :p

  3. I drop a comment each time I appreciate a article on a
    blog or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It is a result of the passion displayed in the post I read.
    And after this post How to survive a No Buy #2 – Restyle your old shoes | My Shoediction.
    I was actually moved enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have
    2 questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be only me or do a few of these comments appear as
    if they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you
    are writing at other places, I’d like to follow you. Could you list every one of all your community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • Hi Danelle, Thanks for dropping a comment! You can find My Shoediction at Facebook and Bloglovin’. You can also follow me at twitter and Instagram: @menina85. What about you, do you blog?

Leave a Reply

